Feed Favorite

POSY QUARTERMAN

Meet Posy. A Portland based mama to Frances. And master of emotionally based photography. Be it iPhone or not, every time I come across one of her images I know immediately who it belongs to, and love it. Here she shares a bit about her current lot as a “stay at home working mom,” and how she’s been spending some of her summer season.

Our family is made up of me, my husband, our daughter, Frances, and our 20 lb Maine Coon cat. We live in a 1920s bungalow in Portland, OR, four blocks from my daughter’s school and two from our neighborhood park. We have a pretty sweet little community in our neighborhood, made up of many mom-and-pop shops where the store owners and employees don’t just know my name but know my daughter as well (including a brick-and-mortar film and film camera store). And plenty of coffee shops to meet a girlfriend for a spicy chai and chat during cherished kid-free moments in our weeks.

I have been taking photos for as long as I can remember, and have very clear memories of begging my mom to develop my film, and my very first Polaroid, a Christmas gift from my grandmother when I was somewhere around 10. I like to call myself a stay-at-home-working-mom. I run a thriving (read: full time) family photo biz in Portland but am also the on-duty parent during the week, which means when school is not in session I pull a lot of late nighters to get everything done.
I love the walk to and from my daughter’s school, and I love to volunteer in her classroom. We live in a beautiful part of the country and try to be outdoors as much as possible, which can be a day trip to the beach, a hike in the forest, or “nature walk” around one of the many wildlife sanctuaries we have nearby.
Summer has found us hopping from summer camp to summer camp so I can get a little work done, but when Franny’s not learning about animal tracking or making ceramics and singing songs in French, we’ve filled our summer days with berry picking on our friend’s blueberry farm, eating tamales at the neighborhood farmer’s market, camping in the foothills of Mt. Hood, attending outdoor concerts, taking swim lessons for Franny, and shooting lots of film for me. Our family is on the East Coast so at the beginning of summer we combined family visits with travel sessions for me… I was born in NY but my parents separated when I was young and I spent my school years in Portland with my mom, and my summers in NY with my dad.

INSTAGRAM: POSYQ

Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *